UTEP WM BB Season Ends in Overtime Loss to UTSA

The UTEP Miners 2021-22 season came to an end Tuesday night as they lost in overtime to UTSA 58-57 in the first round of The Heritage Landscape Supply Group C-USA Basketball Championship Tournament.

The Miners started the game on fire as they shot a whopping 83% from the 3 point line which gave them a 20-10 lead at the end of the first quarter. Destiny Thurman had nine points for UTEP in the quarter.

UTSA mounted a comeback and they outscored the Miners in a low scoring second quarter 11-3. This gave the Miners a 23-21 lead at the half.

In the third quarter the Miners got back on track and they outscored UTSA 16-13 which gave them five point led going into the fourth quarter but in that quarter, UTSA would make a run and take the lead with five minutes left to go in regulation.

UTEP would retake the lead with under a minute to go in regulation thanks to 2 free throws from Katia Gallegos but on the ensuing possession UTSA’s Jaden Pimentel was able to draw a foul, get to the line and make a free throw that sent the game into overtime 52-52.

In overtime the teams exchanged scores with both teams scoring five points but in the last couple of seconds, the Miners failed to score on a layup attempt on the rebound attempt, UTSA’s Charlene Mass was fouled and went to the line for two free throw attempts. She missed the first one but made the second giving UTSA a one point lead with 3 seconds left in overtime. Destiny Thurman attempted a last second shot but it wouldn’t go in and with that, UTSA won the game 58-57 ending the Miners season.

Utep was led by Destiny Thurman as she had 23 points with 7 rebounds. Katia Gallegos scored 8 points and Teal Battle, Avery Crouse and Mahri Petree each scored 7 points.

For UTSA, they had two players in double figures as Elyssa Coleman had a double double 21 points with 11 rebounds. Jayden Pimentel scored 14 points.

As the Miners head into the offseason, they will look to regroup and get back on track. The only player they will lose will be senior Teal Battle.