Successful Weekend for Inaugural Sun Bowl Flag Football Tournament

EL PASO, Texas – Flag football teams from around the Borderland region and beyond took to the fields at the Westside Sports Complex in El Paso, Texas on Aug. 20-22 with multiple teams taking home cash prizes and everyone having a great time with plenty of high-level competition in the Inaugural Sun Bowl Flag Football Tournament.

The teams consisted of 14 members, facing each other in this 8-on-8 flag football tournament.  All participants received a tournament souvenir while the first-place teams in all divisions took home a tournament championship belt, championship thermal cups and cash.

“After much planning and anticipation of this event, it seems like we were able to team up with a great organization in the Southwest Flag Football League to put on another successful and fun community event.  We anticipate growing this event to one of the biggest flag football tournaments in the region,” Sun Bowl Association Executive Director Bernie Olivas said.  “With college football starting this week, it was a great way to kick things off.”

The winner of the Men’s A-Competitive Division was HTK Stars and the winner of the Women’s A-Competitive division was Vipers both taking home a monetary prize of $2,000.

Walking away with $1,000 each, out of the Men’s B-Intermediate Division, Thunder Express won it all while the Killer Bees stung its way through the bracket in the Men’s C-Recreation Division.   Finishing first in the Coed recreational division was SHEEESH, also earning the monetary prize and the championship belt.

“It was great seeing people back at one of our events,” Sun Bowl Special Events Director Joe Daubach said. “We hope that this tournament just grows from here.”

Games ran from 6 p.m. (MT) through 11 p.m. (MT) on Friday night, followed by games from 9 a.m.-3 p.m. on Saturday and from 8 a.m.-4 p.m. on Sunday.  Winners and Runners-up are listed below.

Men’s A-Competitive

Winner: HTK Stars

Runner-up: Main Event

Women’s A-Competitive

Winner: Vipers

Runner-up: Young Gunz

Men’s B-Intermediate

Winner: Thunder Express

Runner-up: Evolution

Men’s C-Recreational

Winner: Killer Bees

Runner-up: EP Storm

Coed Recreational Division


Runner-up: YG Fam

About the Sun Bowl Association:

The Sun Bowl Association is a volunteer based non-profit 501 © 3 organization. The Sun Bowl Association, with the help of over 700 volunteers, promotes and serves the El Paso community and features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the Annual Tony the Tiger Sun Bowl football game. Other Sun Bowl core events include the Sun Bowl Flag Football Tournament, the Peter Piper Pizza Sun Bowl Punt, Pass and Kick, College All-America Golf Classic, Sun Bowl Parade, the WestStar Don Haskins Sun Bowl Basketball Invitational, and the Fan Fiesta. Follow the Sun Bowl Association on Facebook (Sun Bowl Association), Twitter (TonytheTigerSB), Instagram (TonytheTigerSunBowl) and SnapChat (SunBowl2015).

About Southwest Flag Football League

• Flag Football League in El Paso, Texas

• Players are 18-years-of-age and up, four different competitive divisions


• Phone: (915) 253-9853

• Email: